Skip to content

Main Navigation

People


Department Directory

Department Administration

Nola Lucke 

Nola Lucke

Manager, Administrative 

 

 

 

Holly Moreno

Academic Coordinator
801-581-6136
 

John Horel

Dr. John Horel

Department Chair

Undergraduate Career Advisor

To ensure that your inquiry is addressed in a timely manner please send
your correspondence to one of the following:

Tenure-Line Faculty

Dr. Tim Garrett

Dr. Timothy Garrett

Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 821
801-581-5768
tim.garrett@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Aerosol-Cloud-Climate Interactions
Cloud Microphysics
Cloud Dynamics
Environmental Instrumentation
Mountain Meteorology
Non-Equilibrium Thermodynamics
Remote Sensing

 

 

Gannet Hallar

Dr. A. Gannet Hallar

Associate Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 816
801-587-7238
gannet.hallar@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Aerosol-Cloud-Climate Interactions
Air Quality
Cloud Microphysics
Environmental Instrumentation
Dr. John Horel

Dr. John Horel

Professor

Intermountain Network and Scientific
Computing Center (INSCC), Rm 483
801-581-7091
john.horel@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Air Quality
Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Environmental Instrumentation
Fire Weather
Mountain Meteorology
Weather Forecasting

Dr. Steve Krueger

Dr. Steven Krueger

Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 725
801-581-3903
steve.krueger@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Cloud Microphysics
Cloud Dynamics
Fire Weather
Radar Meteorology

 

Dr. John Lin

Dr. John Chun-Han Lin

Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 721
801-581-7530
john.lin@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Air Quality
Atmospheric Chemistry
Environmental Instrumentation
Greenhouse Gases
Land-Air Interactions
Remote Sensing

 

Dr. Jay Mace

Dr. Gerald (Jay) Mace

Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 601
801-585-9489
jay.mace@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Aerosol-Cloud-Climate Interactions
Cloud Microphysics
Cloud Dynamics
Environmental Instrumentation
Radar Meteorology
Remote Sensing

Dr. Kevin Perry

Dr. Kevin Perry

Associate Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 815
801-581-6138
kevin.perry@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Air Quality
Atmospheric Chemistry
Environmental Instrumentation

 

Dr. Zhaoxia Pu

Dr. Zhaoxia Pu

Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 712
801-585-3864
zhaoxia.pu@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Data Assimilation Methods
Mesoscale Meteorology
Numerical Weather Prediction
Radar and Satellite Data Assimilation
Tropical Meteorology
Weather Forecasting

Dr. Thomas Reichler

Dr. Thomas Reichler

Associate Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 804
801-585-0040
thomas.reichler@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Climate Dynamics
Large-Scale Dynamics
Regional and Global Climate Modeling
Stratosphere
Antarctic Ozone Hole

Dr. Jim Steenburgh

Dr. W. James Steenburgh

Professor

Intermountain Network and Scientific
Computing Center (INSCC), Rm 488
801-581-8727
jim.steenburgh@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Mountain Meteorology
Lake-Effect Snowstorms
Weather Forecasting

 
Dr. Court Strong

Dr. Courtenay Strong

Associate Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 702
801-585-0049
court.strong@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Air Quality
Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Cryosphere
Climate Research
Land-Air Interactions

 

Dr. Edward Zipser

 Dr. Edward Zipser

Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 809
801-585-0467
ed.zipser@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Aerosol-Cloud-Climate Interactions
Climate Research
Cloud Microphysics
Cloud Dynamics
Mesoscale Meteorology
Radar Meteorology
Remote Sensing
Tropical Meteorology

Career-Line Faculty

Dr. Steve Cooper

Dr. Steve Cooper

Research Assistant Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 822
801-585-0095
steve.cooper@utah.edu

Research Interests: 

Remote Sensing

Dr. Erik Crosman 

Dr. Erik Crosman

Research Assistant Professor

Intermountain Network and Scientific
Computing Center (INSCC)
Rm 480
801-581-6136 (ATMOS Main Office)
erik.crosman@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Cold Pools and Air Quality
Lake and Sea Breezes
Environmental Instrumentation
Numerical Weather Prediction
Remote Sensing of Lakes
Mountain Meteorology
Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Synoptic Meteorology

Dr. Sebastian Hoch 

Dr. Sebastian Hoch

Research Assistant Professor

Intermountain Network and Scientific
Computing Center (INSCC)
Rm 485
801-581-7094
sebastian.hoch@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Atmospheric Radiation
Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Environmental Instrumentation
Mountain Meteorology

Dr. Mary Ann Jenkins 

Dr. Mary Ann Jenkins

Research Associate Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 719
801-585-9490
maryann.jenkins@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Fire Weather

Dr. Adam Kochanski

 

 

Dr. Adam Kochanski

Associate Research Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 716
801-585-9487
adam.kochanski@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Numerical Weather Prediction

Dr. Derek V. Mallia

Research Assistant Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 713
801-581-6136 (ATMOS Main Office)
derek.mallia@utah.edu 

Research Interests:

Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Land-Air Interactions
Fire Weather
Air Quality
Climate Research

Daniel Mendoza

Dr. Daniel Mendoza

Research Assistant Professor

Intermountain Network and Scientific
Computing Center (INSCC)        
Rm 485
801-581-6136 (ATMOS Main Office)
daniel.mendoza@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Air Quality
Atmospheric Chemistry

Dr. Logan Mitchell

Dr. Logan Mitchell

Research Assistant Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 714
801-581-6136 (ATMOS Main Office)
logan.mitchell@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Air Quality
Atmospheric Chemistry
Environmental Instrumentation 

Dr. Gene Robl

Dr. Gene Robl

Associate Instructor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 811
801-581-7321
gene.robl@utah.edu

Dr. Adam Varble

Dr. Adam Varble

Research Assistant Professor

William Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 813
801-581-3336
a.varble@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Aerosol-Cloud-Climate Interactions
Cloud Dynamics
Cloud Microphysics
Mesoscale Meteorology
Radar Meteorology

Auxiliary Faculty

Jeff Anderson

Dr. Jeffrey Anderson
Adjunct Associate Professor
Institute for Mathematics Applied to Geosciences
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Phone: (303) 497-8991
Email: jla@ucar.edu
CV

Dave Bowling

Dr. David Bowling
Professor
Department of Biology - Professor
University of Utah
Phone: (801) 581-2130
Email: david.bowling@utah.edu
CV

Larry Dunn

Dr. Lawrence Dunn
Adjunct Professor
University of Utah
Phone: (801) 577-6912
Email: lbdunn.ut@gmail.com
CV

Haiyan Jiang

Dr. Haiyan Jiang
Adjunct Associate Professor
Department of Earth & Environment - Associate Professor of Meteorology
Florida International University
Phone: (305) 348-2984
Email: haiyan.jiang@fiu.edu
CV

Alan Kerstein

Dr. Alan Kerstein
Adjunct Professor
Sandia National Laboratories (Retired)
Email: alan.kerstein@gmail.com
CV

Chuntao Liu Dr. Chuntao Liu
Adjunct Associate Professor
Department of Physical & Environmental Sciences - Associate Professor
Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi
Phone: (361) 825-3845
Email: chuntao.liu@tamucc.edu
CV
Chuntao Liu
 

Dr. Eric Pardyjak
Adjunct Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering - Professor
University of Utah
Phone: (801) 585-6414
Email: pardyjak@eng.utah.edu
Website: www.mech.utah.edu/~pardyjak/
CV

Jon Zawislak

Dr. Jonathan Zawislak
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Department of Earth & Environment
Florida International University
Phone: (302)383-9927
Email: jzawisla@fiu.edu
CV

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus Faculty is a title conferred by The University of Utah for the purpose of recognizing the meritorious service of a faculty member upon or after retirement.  Appointments to emeritus status for retired faculty members are made by the Board of Trustees on recommendation of the President of the University and the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Leslie Allaire

Leslie Allaire
Administrative Manager Emerita
Office: Not Available
Phone: Not Available
Email: leslie.allaire@utah.edu

Jan Paegle

Dr. Jan Paegle
Professor Emeritus                                                                                 
Office: 715 WBB
Phone: Not Available
Email: jan.paegle@utah.edu

Julia Paegle

Dr. Julia Paegle
Professor Emerita
Office: 715 WBB
Phone: Not Available
Email: julia.paegle@utah.edu

Judy Pechmann

Dr. Judy Pechmann
Research Associate Emerita
Office: Not Available
Phone: 801-585-1415
Email: judy.pechmann@utah.edu

Vince Solomonson

Dr. Vincent Salomonson
Research Professor
Office: 809 WBB
Phone: 801-581-6136 (ATMOS Main Office)
Email: vince.salomonson@utah.edu

 
David Whiteman

Dr. C. David Whiteman
Research Professor Emeritus
Office: 485 INSCC
Phone: 801-585-1414
Email: dave.whiteman@utah.edu
            davidwhiteman@mac.com

Research Staff

Ryan Bares
Senior Lab Specialist
Phone: Not Available
Email: ryan.bares@utah.edu
Sally Benson Sally Benson
Research Associate
Phone: 801-585-0008
Email: sally.benson@utah.edu
Ben Fasoli
Benjamin Fasoli
Research Associate
Phone: Not Available
Email: b.fasoli@utah.edu

 

Alex Jacques
Post Doctoral Research Associate
Phone: Not Available
Email: alexander.jacques@utah.edu

Krishna Khatri Dr. Krishna Khatri
Research Assistant Professor in Civil and Environmental Engineering
Phone: Not Available
Email: krishna.khatri@utah.edu
Xin Li

Xin Li
Research Scientist
Phone: Not Available
Email: xin.li@utah.edu

James Russell 
Post Doctoral Research Associate 
Phone: Not Available 
Email: james.russell@utah.edu

Peter Veals
Post Doctoral Research Associate
Phone: Not Available
Email: peter.veals@utah.edu

Joe Young
Research Associate
Phone: Not Available
Email: joe.young@utah.edu

Graduate Students

Kim Bestul

Kim Bestul

Graduate Student (M.S.)                                                                                                                   
Email: kimberly.a.bestul@utah.edu

Julie Ann Cunningham

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Email: julie.cunningham@utah.edu

User Profile

Matthew DeMaria

Graduate Student (M.S.)                                                                                                                  
Email: matthew.demaria@utah.edu

Roy Feng

Chengfeng (Roy) Feng

Graduate Student (Ph.D. after prospectus)
Email: Not Available

Taylor McCorkle

TAYLOR GOWAN

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Email: taylor.mccorkle@utah.edu

Tom Gowan

Tom Gowan

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Email: tom.gowan@utah.edu

 Noah Hirshorn

Noah Hirshorn

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Email: noah.hirshorn@utah.edu

User Profile

Kian Huang

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Email: kian.huang@utah.edu 

Bailey Husile

Husile Bai

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)    
Email: Not Available

Xia Li

Xia (Ashley) Li

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Email: xia.li@utah.edu

Paul McGlynn

Paul McGlynn

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Email: u1326688@utah.edu

 Dallas McKinney

Dallas McKinney

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Email: dallas.j.mckinney@utah.edu

User Profile

Christopher mitchell

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Email: chris.mitchell@hsc.utah.edu

 

Michael Pletcher

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Email: michael.pletcher@utah.edu

Mani Rajagopal

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Email: mani.rajagopal@utah.edu

Karlie Rees

Karlie Rees

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)          
Email: karlie.rees@utah.edu

Dustin Roten

Dustin Roten

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)              
Email: dustin.roten@utah.edu

 

Luke stone

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Email:

Ahmad Talaei

Ahmad Talaei

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Email: ahmad.talaei@utah.edu

Brittany Welch

Ieuan Thomas

Graduate Student (M.S.)         
Email: ieuan.thomas@utah.edu

Brittany Welch

Brittany Welch

Graduate Student (M.S.)        
Email: brittany.welch@utah.edu

Michael Wessler

Michael Wessler

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Email: m.wessler@utah.edu

 Taylor (Kai) Wilmot

taylor (Kai) wilmot

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Email: Kai.Wilmot@utah.edu

 Savanna Wolvin

Savanna Wolvin

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Email: s.wolvin@utah.edu

Zhuocan Xu

Zhuocan Xu

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Email: zhuocan.xu@utah.edu
 User Profile

Jackson Yip

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Email: jackson.yip@utah.edu

Zhixiao Zhang

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Email: zhixiao.zhang@utah.edu

Visiting Scientists

YING WANG

Working with Dr. Zhaoxia Pu

Yuntao Wei

Working with Dr. Zhaoxia Pu

Zeqian (Hazel) Xia

Working with Dr. Gannet Hallar

Bojun Zhu

 Working with Dr. Zhaoxia Pu

 

Last Updated: 10/21/20